A charge of driving under the influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania is very serious. Factors ranging from your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of your arrest to the presence of children in your vehicle can impact what consequences you face.
Some of the most common penalties for a DUI conviction include jail time, probation, fines and the suspension of your driver’s license. How long will you lose your driving privileges after a DUI charge in Pennsylvania?
Your driving history and BAC determine the penalties
Under Pennsylvania law, anyone with a BAC higher than 0.08% could face charges for impaired driving even if they don’t demonstrate diminished ability. However, those with a higher BAC may face enhanced penalties after their arrest.
A first-time DUI charge with a BAC of less than 0.08% may not result in the suspension of your license. A second DUI charge in that low BAC range will likely mean that you lose your license for 12 months. A third could mean a suspension of up to 18 months.
Those arrested with a BAC of over 0.10% but under 0.16% will likely have to go longer without driving privileges. You may lose your license for 12 months after a first or second offense or for 18 months after a third or subsequent offense. Those with a BAC of over 0.16% will face other enhanced penalties, even if the suspension time of their license won’t increase.
Learning about the penalties you face from a DUI charge can help you decide the best way to defend yourself. The more you know, the better you can participate in your own defense.